New skincare regime

I’m at the point where I am past the makeup obsession and I’m now obsessing about my skin because who am I trying to fool; I am aging slowly and so is my skin! I still can’t believe I am just 3 years away from turning the big three-o! So in view of all that, I’m trying to achieve a near flawless skin so that makeup for me will be just to enhance my features and look like a rockstar on special occasions but at the same time, I will still be able to go out feeling confident sans makeup. No need for powder nor foundation. No need for concealers nor highlighters. Just a fuss-free 5 minute routine (who wants to wake up early just to prep to go to work! I wanna maximise my sleeping time!) before heading out.

I started on a new skincare regime about 2 weeks back but let’s start from way before that….

Old regime 1
Step 1: Garnier 3 in 1 Facial Wash-Scrub-Mask

image

I’ve been using this for the longest time because I totally love the Pumice Stone that comes with it! It makes me feel that I’m scrubbing away crap off my face after every wash and my face feel squeaky clean. I even have one bottle stashed at work because my face gets so oily despite being in aircon the entire time at work. And each time it gets too oily, I will wash my face – roughly about 2-3 times on top of the twice daily routine. Yes, I know it’s a bad habit to strip my face of the oil; more oil will be produced, making my face oilier! But I can’t help it…! I seldom use it as a mask though.

Step 2: THERE IS NO STEP 2!!
I don’t use anything after this. I’d just slap on my eyeliner, mascara and lipstick and colour in my brows and I’m good to go. No toner, no moisturizer, no sunblock. Nothing! Face – oily.

Then I slept over my cousin’s place and I used one of her facial cleansers & I fell in love with the product so….

Old regime 2
Step 1: Liquid Neutrogena Pure Mild Facial Cleanser

image

image

image

I have no reason for a using a mild cleanser (I don’t have breakouts nor huge zits), other than loving the feeling post-cleansing – my skin feel cleansed but not squeaky clean so I guess it’s good cause it doesn’t strip my face bare to the core.

Step 2: Neutrogena Alcohol-Free Toner

image

image

Absolutely love the toner – especially the smell. It feels so light and my skin feels supple and ready to go after a min!

Regime 2 still doesn’t help much in oil department. My face has got to be one of the oiliest in the history! One good thing out of it is that, maybe I won’t get wrinkles easily, right? Anyways, this regime does no change to my complexion as well. Everything still feels the same. Not that my skin is in bad condition but rather, it’s at the stagnant stage where I thought this is the best my skin and my complexion can ever be.

So then… One of the BTB blogged about Hada Labo’s Whitening Lotion and she swears by it. So I succumbed and bought it during Guardian’s buy 2 get 1 free promo (I got the face wash too!) – which by the way, is still ongoing until 31 July this year!

New regime
Step 1: Hada Labo Oil Control Face Wash

image

It does it work, I guess? The only complain I have is the consistency! It’s super runny! I don’t even need to squeeze the tube to get the product out. I just tip it and it will flow out. It’s not like water or anything but definitely waaaaay thinner than the usual facial washes I’ve used. So much so that the first time I used it, I actually wasted quite a bit of the product! But after knowing it after a wash or 2, you’ll get the hang of getting the product out without any wastage.

Step 2: Hada Labo Arbutin Whitening Lotion

image

Don’t be fooled by the word lotion. The consistency is far from a lotion! The consistency is like water actually so I use it as a toner, as many other people are doing. I must say, this product is quite appealing to me. Fragrance free – checked! Alcohol free – checked! Skin pH balanced – checked! And most importantly, whitening properties – checked! So far, I don’t have any complains about this product. Maybe it takes slightly a little bit longer to get absorbed by the skin but hey, time is nothing for a beautiful skin, right?

And last but not least, after maybe 3 or 4 years of contemplating on the next product, I finally bought it!

Step 3: SK-II Facial Treatment Essence

image

image

Yes, I’ve finally jumped onto the much-raved FTE bandwagon! I’ve always been very skeptical when a product gets overhyped that I don’t know whether is it reeeeeeally true or just a gimmick, especially when it’s expensive. But I guess that 3-4 years worth of contemplating is finally over! What can I say about this product except it’s been wonderful! The smell that people have been ranting about isn’t as bad as how people makes it to be, really. Also dries quick enough. 2 weeks in, I feel that my skin is a lot better. My oiliness has reduced significantly to the point that I don’t feel the need to wash my face 2-3 times at work anymore. I would just splash water on my face and I feel fresh and clean.

image

This review above by someone at a local forum takes the words out of my mouth! I totally agree about the waking up with a matte face. I would normally wake up with suuuuper oily face and I’m not even exaggerating! But eversince I used this, I wake up with a totally matte face! Not oily, but matte! Can you believe it? I am so in awe!! I don’t know if I wanna credit it to the FTE or HL’s Oil Control Face Wash & Whitening Lotion so I googled and found that review above so I could happily say that this matte outcome is FTE’s work! Not only that, my dark circles have significantly reduced and my skin looks supple. It has already given me that glow that people have been raving about, the healthy dewy glow you see those korean actresses have, not the oily glow. Every now and then, I would admire my skin at work in disbelief (oops, guilty!) My freckles (I only have it on my right side and I have no idea why!) right beneath my dark circle is still present but I have high hopes that it will reduce in colour soon enough!

All in all, I would say that these 3 products in my new skincare regime have been working great for me and I have a feeling that I will be using this new regime for a long long time!

Here’s to trying to achieve a healthy skin and feeling pretty without the need for foundation/powder/concealer!

P.S
1. I naturally have oily skin.
2. My skin is not classified as sensitive.
3. I seldom have zits, let alone breakouts.
So if you have sensitive skin, do approach trying these products with caution, especially SK-II’s Facial Treatment Essence because I’ve read stories about people breaking out like mad, even those who never ever have breakouts.
4. It took me an hour to churn out this post! Hahahhaha…

2 thoughts on “New skincare regime

Leave a Reply

